Ron Orta Memorial Award

In memory of Ron Orta, LAMA will present an annual award to an individual actively employed in lab animal vivarium operations, management or administration that presents a professional/managerial presentation at our LAMA/ATA Annual Meeting.

2024 Recipient – F. Claire Hankenson

Ron Orta Memorial Award

The criteria for the award require that nominees submit an abstract to the LAMA Program Committee and have the abstract accepted for presentation at the LAMA/ATA Meeting.

The award selection process will occur during the LAMA/ATA Annual Meeting. The selection committee shall consist of the Awards Committee chair and three other members.

The award winner will be presented with an award and honorarium on the last day of the LAMA/ATA Annual Meeting each year. 

An award winner can only win the award once during their professional career.

Allentown, Inc. is the sponsor for the award and will be responsible for the award presentation and honorarium. Allentown, Inc. will also have the rights to publicize the award winner.

Ron Orta Memorial Award Recipients

2024 – F. Claire Hankenson
2023 – Kendra Morris
2022 – Morag Mackay
2021 – Anne Kuszpit
2020 – N/A
2019 – Erin Straley
2018 – Gerard Cronin
2017 – Chris Southern
2016 – Amanda Coldwell
2015 – Stacy Pritt
2014 – James Cox
2013 – Subibe Choudhury
2012 – Belinda Rivera
2011 – Diana Baumann
2010 – Macy Joseph and Steve Boule
2009 – Paige Werner and Carolyn Malinowski